Skip to content →

Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Ingo Autenrieth is a specialist in microbiology, virology and infectious disease epidemiology. After studying medicine in Ulm and Dundee, he was a physician and scientist at the Universities of Ulm and Würzburg as well as a visiting scientist at the Swiss Institute for Experimental Cancer Research (ISREC), and from 1996 to 2000 a professor at the Max von Pettenkofer-Institute at the University of Munich. Since 2000 he has been the Medical Director of the Institute of Microbiology and Hygiene at the University Hospital of Tübingen. His Institute explores the disease processes of bacterial infections and carries out the infectious medical laboratory diagnostics for patients of the University Hospital. It also focuses on the study of the intestinal flora (microbiota), the gut-associated immune system, and the resistance of pathogens to antibiotics. Autenrieth and his colleagues have published several hundred articles in internationally renowned journals. Autenrieth also runs the German Centre for Infection Research in Tübingen and is leading in many research alliances, such as the DFG Priority Program “microbiota of the intestine” and serves on national and international scientific and medical advisory boards. Since 2006 he has been Dean of the Medical Faculty of the Eberhard Karls University of Tübingen and the board of the University Hospital Tübingen.

Prof. Dr. Daniel Huson is a mathematician and bioinformatician. After his PhD and habilitation in mathematics at the University of Bielefeld, he spent two years as a post-doctoral fellow at the Princeton University, New Jersey, USA. He then worked from 1999 to 2002 as a Senior Staff Scientist at Celera Genomics Corp. Rockville, Maryland, USA, and was involved in the decoding of the human genome. Since 2002 he has been Professor of Algorithms in Bioinformatics at the Eberhard Karls University of Tübingen. His research focus is the development of software and algorithms in the fields of evolution, genomics and metagenomics. Huson is the author of MEGAN, the most widely used interactive program for microbiome analysis. In 2013 his team won the DTRA Algorithms Challenge “Identify Organisms from a Stream of DNA” with a prize of one million dollars.

Prof. Dr. Detlef Weigel is a German-American biologist. After completing his PhD at the Max-Planck-Institute for Developmental Biology and a post-doctoral position at Caltech, he was professor at the Salk Institute in La Jolla, California, USA, from 1993 to 2002. Since 2002 he has been the Director of the Department of Molecular Biology at the Max-Planck-Institute for Developmental Biology in Tübingen. Weigel and his staff have made significant contributions to the understanding of genetic and genomic variation, especially in plants. They are world leaders in genomic research and the development of new genetic and genomic methods and resources. The three most highly regarded journals in life sciences, Science, Nature and Cell, have published more than 40 articles by Weigel. He is currently the most cited developmental and evolutionary biologist in German-speaking regions and is the most cited plant biologist in Europe. Weigel has been active in numerous scientific advisory boards and currently chairs the Council of the European Molecular Biology Organization. Weigel’s work has been awarded many times, including the Leibniz – Prize of the German Research Association. He is an elected member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, and Foreign Member of the Royal Society.